top of page

Daryl Henwood Takes Race #2

On Saturday July 25th the Young Drivers Canadian Vintage Modifieds returned to Flamboro Speedway for race #2 in the 2020 season. After a successful race on June 20th the club was able to return to make an appearance on the card for the days events. 17 cars made their way to Flamboro on a bright sunny day where the temperatures reached in the 30's. We had 3 drivers make their 2020 debut with club.

In the first heat the #24 of Rodney Rutherford and #8 of Rick Willigar lead the field to green on the first lap #19 of John Karley made his way to second as the #8 of Rick Willigar slipped in the field where going into turns 3 and 4 where it looked like the #8 checked up slightly as the #33 of Chance Isherwood dove the car in a little deep which sent the #8 around and collecting the #33 in the process damaging the left front of his car taking him out of contention for the heat. On the ensuing restart the #19 of John Karley powered on the outside around the #24 of Rodney Rutherford bringing the #18 of Jerrid Morphy alongside with him. Jerrid Morphy along with Rodney Rutherford and the #00 of Jake Gilbert were hot on the heels of John Karley with only 8 laps to get it done in the heat race. Morphy would look to the inside of Karley but unable to make a move to get by him. At the checkered flag it was John Karley taking the heat win with #18 of Jerrid Morphy finishing second, Rodney Rutherford third, Jake Gilbert fourth and rounding out the top 5 was Quintin Murdoch.

The second heat saw #17 of Joe Arsenault and the #46 of Mike Klotz leading the field to green. The #17 jumped out to a quick lead after the #46 of Klotz pushed up the track in turns 1 and 2 where the #15 of T.J Marshall slides up beside the #46 where they battled side by side for a couple of laps before the #15 pulled out front of Klotz sliding him back to third. T.J Marshall started battling with Arsenault for the lead before Marshall got the better of Arsenault and got the lead bringing the #29 of Daryl Henwood along with him sliding the #17 to slide to third to battle with the #46 of Klotz. the #46 was able to get around the #17 just in time to snag third for the heat. First was T.J Marshall, Second was #29 of Daryl Henwood, Third was the #46 of Mike Klotz, Fourth was the #17 of Joe Arsenault and rounding out the top 5 was the #39 of Bill Pearsall.

When it was feature time 17 cars took the green flag with the #29 of Daryl Henwood and the #46 of Mike Klotz lead the field to green for the 30 lap feature event. Henwood appeared to miss a shift allowing the Joe Arsenault to slid to the inside line at the start finish line getting up beside the #46 of Klotz going into one. Klotz powered on the high side in 3 and 4 where coming out of the turn 4 the #17 and #46 make contact with Arsenault going around in front of the field with everyone parting like the seas except at the back of the field where the #53 got hit from behind by the #88 causing significant damage to both cars. On the restart Henwood and Klotz lead the field back to green where they would get single field rather quickly after the first lap where the top 3 got single filed with the next battle being the #15 and #19 battling for fourth and fifth with the #15 of Marshall battling on the high side of the #19 of Karley. After starting in the third position the #19 of John Karley starting falling back in the field after T.J Marshall was able to get around him. Everyone started to settle in for the long run when the #88 of Bill Stoner Sr spun going into turn 3 bringing out the second caution of the race. At the front it was the #29 of Daryl Henwood leading the way with Klotz, Marshall and Rutherford lined up around him on the restart. The #29 and #46 stayed side by side through turns 1 and 2 before the #29 of Henwood pulled out front by half a car length going into three with the Klotz stuck on the outside and T.J Marshall on hot on the backside of the Henwood. Out of 4 the #29 was able to get a car length ahead down the front stretch while the #15 and #46 battled side by side and the #18 Morphy battled on the inside of the #24 Rutherford with the #00 of Jake Gilbert right on their heels. On the next lap everyone was able to get single file through the top 5. After sliding through 1 and 2 the Rodney Rutherford slid back into 6th allowing the #00 of Jake Gilbert to slide into the top 5. At the front it was Henwood holding up Marshall and 10 car lengths back was the Klotz holding off Morphy with Jake Gilbert riding just behind them. The 18 slid through turns 1 and 2 allowing the Gilbert to slide by into fourth allowing Klotz to build a gap to fourth place. A couple laps later Gilbert would push up the hill in 1 and 2 allowing Morphy to take back his fourth place position. The field spread out a bit with the #29 building a lead of 5 car lengths over Marshall. Coming to the checkered it was Daryl Henwood taking the win. T.J Marshall taking second, Mike Klotz third, Jerrid Morphy fourth and rounding out the top 5 was Jake Gilbert.

After a great day of racing all of the racers were unsure of when they would get back to the track. We're excited to announce we will be back to the track on Sept 5th! Along side the Young Drivers of Canada Canadian Vintage Modifieds Flamboro Speedway will also have the Pure Stocks, Mini Stocks, Ontario Sportsman Cup and the Legend Cars concluding the days events. Stayed tuned to the website for more info on September 5th race!

On behalf of the Canadian Vintage Modifieds we would like to thank all our sponsors.

Young Drivers of Canada

Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park.

Touchwood Cabinets

Inside Track Motorsports News

Oakville Trailers

Georgetown Printing

Epic Racewear

B&B Decals

Creative Edge Signs & Graphics

Grisdales Racing Products

Flamboro Machine Shop

Klotz Automotive


bottom of page