top of page

First Time Winner Takes Top Spot In Memorial Race

On Saturday the Canadian Vintage Modifieds returned to Flamboro Speedway for their annual memorial race. The day started off promising for all the teams and drivers as they made their third start of the year with temperatures not normally seen for another month for the annual Frostoberfest event. During practice the teams had 20 mins to make sure they shook the bugs out of the car for the heats and features.

In the first heat of the day we had the #88 of Bill Stoner Sr. and the #7 of Quintin Murdoch leading the field to green. After completing lap 1 the #88 spun going into turn one collecting the #03 of Jake Gilbert. There was minimal, if not and damage between the #88 and #03. The officials would give the #03 his spot back which put him in P1 when they went back to green. After the brief caution Jake Gilbert would get a good jump on the restart and pull away from Quintin Murdoch in the #7 and the rest of the field as he cruised to the heat win in the first heat.

Heat #1 Finishing Order:

1) #03 Jake Gilbert

2) #7 Quintin Murdoch

3) #88 Bill Stoner Sr.

4) #00 Brian Pescetti

5) #07 Michael Kenny

6) #37 Heath Penny

The second heat started with the #8 of Rick Willigar starting on the pole position with the #42 of Steve Murdoch starting on his outside. On the drop of the green flag going into turn one Steve Murdoch got loose going into one and over correcting sending his car into the outside wall collecting the #47 of Patrick Reulens. Both cars were taken off by the tow trucks and were repaired in time for the feature race. On the ensuing green flag the #8 of Rick Willigar was able to get out front of the #17 of Joe Arsenault and hold him off as the rest of the field spread out and ran a clean race till the end.

Heat #2 Finishing Order:

1) #8 Rick Willigar

2) #17 Joe Arsenault

3) #33 Keith Temple

4) #80 Amanda Stoner

5) #19 Connor Ross

6) #42 Steve Murdoch (DNF)

7) #47 Patrick Reulens (DNF)

Heat 3 saw the #46 of Mike Klotz and the #29 of Daryl Henwood led the field to green in the third heat. Mike Klotz got a good jump and was able to get out front of the #29 with the #18 of Jerrid Morphy and the #15 of T.J Marshall hot on their tales as they made lap after lap in the heat. Lap 5 saw a change for the lead as the #29 of Daryl Henwood made a pass for the lead on the inside of the #46 of Mike Klotz. Once Henwood made the pass he brought with him the #18 of Jerrid Morphy and the #15 of T.J Marshall as Klotz slid to the fourth spot as the checkered came out.

Heat #3 Finishing Order

1) #29 Daryl Henwood

2) #18 Jerrid Morphy

3) #15 T.J Marshall

4) #46 Mike Klotz

5) Bill Pearsall

After the intermission all the teams were ready to get back on track for their 30 lap memorial