top of page

Championship Night

For the final time in 2021 we will be doing our final race recap. On Saturday night 14 Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modified came out to do battle one more time in 2021 at Flamboro Speedway. Fourteen points separated Jerrid Morphy and T.J Marshall heading into the final night of 2021.

In feature #1 it was the #19 of Mike Westwood and the #17 of Joe Arsenault starting on the front row. At the drop of the green flag it was the #17 making a jump on the high side to get around Westwood heading down the backstretch getting single filed as the rest of the field battled for position. Unfortunately on lap 3 disaster struck as coming out of turn two the 19 machine snapped loose collecting the #03 of Jake Gilbert and the #5 of Mike Podd. All three cars and drivers would return to the pits and not finish feature one. On the restart it was Joe Arsenault and the #7 of Quintin Murdoch on the front row taking the field down the front straight away. The red #17 machine took the lead again bringing along with him the #15 of T.J Marshall and the #18 of Jerrid Morphy. The top four were running nose to tail for a bit till the second place Marshall was able to get his car to the inside of the Arsenault as they battle side by side before the #15 machine took over top spot with the #17 sliding back to fourth place after getting past by the #18 and the #7. When the checkered flag flew at the end of 25 laps it was T.J Marshall taking the top spot with Jerrid Morphy coming home second, Quintin Murdoch finished third.

Once back in the pits the teams started getting prepared for feature #2 of the night. Once all cars lined up only the #19 of Mike Westwood didn't make the call due to much damage suffered in race one. On the front row it was the #53 of Jeff Kells and the #44 of Connor Ross leading the field to green. The field was fighting for position two and even three wide through out the field. On lap two the #17 machine made a move down around the outside of Jeff Kells heading off into turn three on the outside of Morphy before going straight into the outside wall in between three and four ending his night. After the clean up it was Quintin Murdoch and T.J Marshall starting on the front row. The young Murdoch jumped out to an early lead as Willigar took the inside lane with Marshall stuck on the outside with Morphy sitting right behind them as they battled lap after lap before Marshall slipped back to fourth place. When the checkered flag flew it was Quinton Murdoch bringing home the final feature of 2021. Ricky Willigar came home in second place and Jerrid Morphy rounded out the podium for the final race of 2021.

Quinton Murdoch was declared the 2021 Young Driver's of Canada Canadian Vintage Modified Rookie Of the Year. Jerrid Morphy was crowned the 2021 Young Driver's of Canada Canadian Vintage Modified Champion. A big thank you and congratulations goes out to all the teams that competed in 2021 and can't thank you enough for all the hard work you guys do each and every week to keep the cars looking as great as they do.

Thank you to all our amazing club sponsors and thank you for your continued support of the great club. Thank you to Flamboro Speedway for hosting us each week this season in 2021 and look forward to being back in 2022. Thank you to all our amazing fans and supporters each and every week cheering on these amazing guys and gals each time out. Thank you to all the hard work the committee does throughout the year.

As we wrap up this season that means our first season of the vlog will come to an end as well. Keep an eye out for our last vlog of the 2021 season. Thank you to all our drivers who we got to ride along with in 2021. Look forward to more vlogs in 2022.

Here is how our final finishing order of 2021 lined up.

Feature #1 Finishing Order:

1) #15 T.J Marshall

2) #18 Jerrid Morphy

3) #7 Quintin Murdoch

4) #17 Joe Arsenault

5) #44 Connor Ross

6) #53 Jeff Kells

7) #33 Robert Guy

8) #39 Jae Pepin

9) #19 Mike Wetwood

10) #03 Jake Gilbert

11) #8 Ricky Willigar

12) #5 Mike Podd

13) #42 Steve Murdoch

14) #88 Devon Rayment

Feature #2 Finishing Order:

1) #7 Quintin Murdoch

2) #8 Ricky Willigar

3) #18 Jerrid Morphy

4) #15 T.J Marshall

5) #03 Jake Gilbert

6) #5 Mike Podd

7) #44 Connor Ross

8) #33 Robert Guy

9) #39 Jae Pepin

10) #53 Jeff Kells

11) #17 Joe Arsenault

12) #42 Steve Murdoch

13) #19 Mike Westwood (DNS)

14) #88 Devon Rayment (DNS)

Thank you everyone for a great season. Looking forward to a great 2022 season. Stay tuned as we will be working on the website throughout the off season and get ready for our next season.


bottom of page