top of page

Championship Night!

On Saturday night the Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modifieds returned to Flamboro Speedway for their final event of the 2022 season. In a year filled with ups and downs for many of the teams it was an exciting season to say the least with some drivers collecting their first wins.

The nights action was brought to you by Flamboro Machine Shop. Let's get into the first feature. On the drop of the green flag Steve Murdoch and Rodney Rutherford started on the front row for the first of two 25 lap feature races. Rodney would get the jump on the high side and take an early lead. The field would battle for position on the opening laps. Steve Murdoch pulled a hard left out of two and slowed up allowing the field to go by before rejoining the field. The #42 would pull off with a vibration in the drive shaft. As the field would count off the laps at the front of the field it was Rodney Rutherford leading but he wasn't alone as he had three cars in tow in Quintin Murdoch, T.J Marshall and Ricky Willigar. After banging on the backdoor of Rodney and unable to get around Q. Murdoch would fall victim to T.J Marshall after Marshall got a run to the inside down the backstretch and made the pass bring along with him the #8 of Willigar. Lap after lap Rutherford was keeping pace out front and being able to hold off Marshall and Murdoch. T.J was looking to the outside of the leader trying to work his way around the #24 of Rutherford when disaster would strike for the leader. Going into turn three Marshall on the outside of Rutherford when Ricky Willigar dove to the inside of Rutherford locking up the brakes and making contact with the left rear wheel and quarter of Rutherford. Willigar would spin to the infield bringing out the only caution of the race. Rutherford would go to the pits and have the damaged pulled away from the left rear tire. On the restart Marshall would lead the field to green with Murdoch on the outside the driver of the #7 would fall into second place where they would run 1,2 when the checkered flag flew. Scott Tonelli would round out the podium finishing third.

During the intermission drivers from the CVM's decorated their cars for the Change 4 Change Mental Health Initiative in Christmas lights. We are thankful for Team Sneaker and MRC Racing from the pure stocks for joining us in the display. After running a couple parade laps the cars parked on the front stretch and Scott Tonelli chatted with Flamboro announcer Kevin Small. Scott would talk about why he started Change 4 Change and what it meant for him. Drivers walked throughout the grandstands collecting donations that are going to Grand River Hospital. You can find out more about Change 4 Change by clicking here.

The drivers pulled off the Christmas lights and got ready for the second and final feature of the 2022 season. On the front row it was the #43 of Jae Pepin and the #24 of Rodney Rutherford. On the drop of the green flag Jae would make a hard left coming out of four and rejoin the field at the back of the pack. Rodney Rutherford would take over top spot the field would settle down after jockeying for position. The biggest mover of the race was the #15 of T.J Marshall after starting from the rear racing up to second place where he would finish second to eventual race winner Rodney Rutherford. Daryl Henwood would beat out Scott Tonelli for the third spot on the podium.

With the racing completed for the night it was time to hand out some hardware.

T.J Marshall was awarded the end of season race winner trophy.

Scott Tonelli was awarded with the Rookie Of the Year award.

T.J Marshall was awarded and crowned the 2022 Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modifieds Champion.

On behalf of the Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modifieds we would like to send a big congratulations to John & Frank Cassale on owning Flamboro Speedway for 50 years. We thank them for their time and dedication and for allowing us a space to race. Thank you for everything!

Thank you to Young Driver's of Canada for being the presenting sponsor for the series the past three seasons. We thank them for believing in the club and being an integral part of our club. We thank you.

Thank you to all the club sponsors.

Sauble Falls Tent & Trailer Park

Touchwood Cabinets

Inside Track Motorsports News

EPIC Racewear

Georgetown Printing

Grisdale Racing Products

We thank you for your support of this great division.

Thank you to the fans, families, sponsors, friends and everyone for supporting these drivers each week. We hope you were entertained all season.

Thank you to the committee for the hard work they have done for the club all season.

Finally to the racers, crews and teams. Thank you for your dedication and time to this sport. Thank you for joining us over a gruelling 14 race schedule to do what we love to do. Look forward to seeing everyone in 2023.

Enjoy the off-season!


bottom of page