top of page

Hank Frank Memorial Season Opener!

On Saturday night the Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modifieds returned to Flamboro Speedway for their first race of 2022. As the teams rolled in on a chilly April day to start the season. All the hard work the teams put in in the off season was about to pay off. 11 teams took to the track for the opening night format which saw group qualifying to set the starting line up with a fan picked invert. Quintin Murdoch qualified pole but would start fourth to the invert.

On the drop of the green flag Robbie Guy went for a spin coming out of turn 4 before taking the green flag which ultimately brought out the first caution of 2022. On the ensuing start it was the #8 of Ricky Willigar and the #5 of Mike Podd leading the field into one. As the field settled into single file it was Ricky leading T.J Marshall and Quintin Murdoch on the opening laps before a second caution came out due to debris on the track. On the restart Ricky got a good jump and was out front again leading the field while Quintin was working on the #15 of Marshall before making the pass down the straight away. Once the #7 of Quintin Murdoch got around Marshall he set his eyes on the leader. Quintin chased down the #8 of Willigar before making the pass on the #8 and taking over the top spot.

On lap 21 is when disaster struck as the race was going off without a hitch before the #33 started losing a motor going down the front stretch collecting the #17 of Joe Arsenault in the oil being dropped on the race car ultimately ending the night of Robbie Guy (#33) and Joe Arsenault (#17). The race was put on red flag as the Flamboro Speedway staff cleaned up the oil from the bottom groove as well as removing both the #33 and the #17 from the race track.

After a 10-15 minute red flag the caution flag was displayed and the teams ran over the speedy dry laid down in the bottom groove for a couple laps before doubling up the field with only nine laps to go in the 30 lap feature. On the restart Quintin got a good jump out of turn 4 and led the field back to the stripe as they raced into one. Heading into three it appeared the #5 of Podd couldn't slow down enough and got into the side of the #24 of Rodney Rutherford. Both were able to continue with Rutherford keeping out front of Podd. When the checkered flag flew it was the #7 of Quintin Murdoch taking the checkered flag with Ricky Willigar finishing second and T.J Marshall rounding out the podium.

Finishing Order:

1) #7 Quintin Murdoch

2) #8 Ricky Willigar

3) #15 T.J Marshall

4) #24 Rodney Rutherford

5) #5 Mike Podd

6) #42 Steve Murdoch

7) #14 Scott Tonelli

8) #44 Adam Ross

9) #43 Jae Pepin

10) #17 Joe Arsenault

11) #33 Robbie Guy

The Canadian Vintage Modifieds are off the next two weeks and will return to Flamboro Speedway on May 21st for our second night of racing. Come on out to Flamboro Speedway and enjoy the Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modifieds. Pits open at 4:00pm, Granstands open at 5:00pm and Racing gets underway at 6:30pm.

Make sure to stay up to date on all things CVM by following us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.


bottom of page