top of page

Time To Rest

After a stretch of five race days in as many weekends the drivers and teams of the Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modifieds can now rest for a week after a long hard month of racing. First, we have some business to take care of. Saturday night the teams went to Flamboro Speedway to compete in their fifth straight night of racing at the 1/3 mile oval.

In the first feature of the night 11 cars took to the track for 25 laps. On the front row we would see the #44 of Connor Ross and the #7 of Quintin Murdoch start up front on the feature. On the drop of the green flag the #7 of Murdoch would pull around the high side and take an early lead bringing along with him the #8 of Ricky Willigar. As the laps started ticking away Connor would settle into the third position holding off Scott Tonelli, MIke Westwood, and T.J Marshall. Marshall would make passes on the high side to gain position moving forward settling in to third and start chasing down the leaders. Up front Ricky would get around the #7 of Murdoch. On lap 5 Murdoch would go for a spin but was able to keep it rolling and not bring out the caution. Marshall would catch the back bumper of Willigar making bump and run pass for the lead which Marshall would never look back from taking the first feature. Ricky Willigar and Mike Podd would round out the top 3.

After a lengthy intermission with a cruise to the track featuring some beautiful cars for some laps around the speedway it was time to get down to business for the second feature. During the intermission Connor Ross felt under the weather and there was a driver change in the #44 with Connor Ross jumping out and Adam Ross taking over driving duties for the second feature.

Feature two started us off with the #42 of Steve Murdoch and the #43 of Jae Pepin leading the field to green. As the cars drove off into turn one the #43 of Pepin pulled around the outside taking over the top spot from Murdoch as the #42 quickly fell off the pace heading down the back stretch falling to sixth on the opening lap. Pepin would lead the field for two laps before being taken over by the #7 of Quntin Murdoch. With Pepin falling back to fourth it would be a battle moving forward for the top spot. Not to long after getting the top spot Murdoch was de-throned with the #8 of Ricky Willigar showing a strong run taking the top spot. With only three laps to go T.J Marshall would get along side Ricky and get a good drive off four powering past Ricky as the #8 machine brushed the wall down the straightaway. The #15 of T.J Marshall would drive to victory one more time sweeping the features and taking the overall on the night. Ricky Willigar and Quintin Murdoch would round out our podium for the second feature.

The club is off next weekend but that doesn't mean we're not preparing for something truly amazing. During the intermission of the clubs next race teams have been preparing backpacks to give out to some lucky kids. That's right the Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modifieds will be doing a back to school night on September 3rd. During intermission drivers from the club will make their ways to the grandstands side to give some lucky kids a brand new backpack filled with back to school goodies. Bring the family as a special raffle ticket will be given out to children when they come through the front gate. September 3rd racing also features the Pro Late Models, Super Stocks and Mini Stocks. With only two races left in the 2022 season make sure you make your way to Flamboro Speedway for a night of fun filled racing action!

Feature #1 Finishing Order:

  1. #15 T.J Marshall

  2. #8 Ricky Willigar

  3. #1 Mike Podd

  4. #7 Quintin Murdoch

  5. #14 Scott Tonelli

  6. #43 Jae Pepin

  7. #5 Ian McIntyre

  8. #42 Steve Murdoch

  9. #19 Mike Westwood

  10. #44 Connor Ross

  11. #24 Rodney Rutherford

Feature #2 Finishing Order:

  1. #15 T.J Marshall

  2. #8 Ricky Willigar

  3. #7 Quintin Murdoch

  4. #14 Scott Tonelli

  5. #5 Ian McIntyre

  6. #19 Mike Westwood

  7. #42 Steve Murdoch

  8. #43 Jae Pepin

  9. #44 Adam Ross

  10. #1 Mike Podd

  11. #24 Rodney Rutherford

bottom of page