top of page

What Break?

After a two week break the Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modifieds returned to Flamboro Speedway to continue our battle for the 2021 season. 15 beautiful Young Driver's Canadian Vintage Modifieds made the trip on the weekend to Flamboro and after the break it certainly did not seem like the teams missed.a step.

In the first feature of the night we had the #42 of Steve Murdoch and the #38 of Doug Hood on starting on the front row. Going into turn one the #42 of Murdoch locked up the right wheel pushing him up the track in one causing the rest of the field to check up in turn 1 with only the #17 of Joe Arsenault having to pull off the track with some damage. Since the field did not complete a lap it was put back to an original start. On the second restart of the night Doug Hood lined up on the outside of row one and as he crossed the start finish line the motor let go and laid down a streak of oil down the front stretch and heading off the track. On attempt number three the field fired up and dove down into turn one where on exit of two it was the #5 of Mike Podd taking the top spot with Mike Klotz in his #46 and the #18 of Jerrid Morphy following them on the high side down the back stretch. The #29 got spun around in turn three but was able to re-fire and get going keeping the field green. The field got single filed till lap 19 where the #53 of Jeff Kells spun around in turn #2 to bring out the third caution of the race. On the restart it was the #5 of Mike Podd and the #15 of T.J Marshall leading the field to green. the two battled it hard until Podd was able to break away just enough to bring the #18 of Morphy along with him sliding the #15 back to third. The #46 of Klotz spun around in turn two bringing out caution number four on the race. The race was winding down on the restart with only 3 laps remaining, On the restart Podd got a great jump and the battle was for second between Marshall and Morphy. Marshall would get past the #18 of Morphy coming to the white flag where Morphy fell off the pace just a bit allowing the #8 of Ricky Willigar to get up to to his bumper with Morphy moving to the inside making Ricky work to the outside with Morphy on the inside with a flat left front tire. It was Mike Podd in his #5 returning to victory lane for the third time this season with the #15 of T.J Marshall right behind him and beating him to the line was the #8 of Ricky Willigar and fourth was #18 Jerrid Morphy with the #03 of Bob Gilbert finishing fifth in his return to the club.

Feature #1 Finishing Order:

1) #5 Mike Podd

2) #15 T.J Marshall

3) #8 Ricky Willigar

4) #18 Jerrid Morphy

5) #03 Bob Gilbert

6) #29 Daryl Henwood

7) #42 Steve Murdoch

8) #46 Mike Klotz

9) #53 Jeff Kells

10) #7 Quinton Murdoch

11) #19 Mike Westwood

12) #24 Rodney Rutherford

13) #44 Connor Ross

14) #38 Doug Hood

15) #17 Joe Arsenault

In the second feature it was the #46 of Mike Klotz and the #42 of Steve Murdoch on the front row. On the drop of the green flag Mike Klotz pulled out front bringing along with him the #29 of Daryl Henwood. On lap seven the first caution of the race came out for a spinning Mike Westwood in turn number two. On the restart it was #46 of Mike Klotz and the #29 of Daryl Henwood on the front row with Morphy and Marshall in the second row. Around lap ten it was the #53 of Jeff Kells getting loose off of turn four and went around bringing out the caution once again but was able to re-fire and rejoin the back of the field. On the restart the field got single filed quickly till cars started making moves around the #46 of Mike Klotz as crossing the star finish line it appears as the motor let go. The caution came out when the #29 of Henwood went around in turn one making contact with the outside wall but was able to get re fired and joined up at the back of the field. On the restart Morphy and Marshall were lined up on the front row but they got singled filed rather quickly with the #5 of Mike Podd hot on their tail as they ran nose to tail the final handful of laps to take home the victory for his second win of the season. T.J Marshall was second and #5 of Mike Podd rounded out the top 3.

Feature #2 Finishing Order:

1) #18 Jerrid Morphy

2) #15 T.J Marshall

3) #5 Mike Podd

4) #03 Bob Gilbert

5) #8 Ricky Willigar

6) #42 Steve Murdoch

7) #29 Daryl Henwood

8) #17 Joe Arsenault

9) #44 Connor Ross

10) #53 Jeff Kells

11) #46 Mike Klotz

12) #19 Mike Westwood

13) #7 Quinton Murdoch

14) #24 Rodney Rutherford

15) #38 Doug Hood (DNS)

Our next event will be this coming weekend August 28th at Flamboro Speedway for their annual Flamboro Memorial and Fan Appreciation. Pits open at 4:00PM grandstands open at 5:00PM and racing get's underway at 6:00PM. Joining the Canadian Vintage Modified will be the Pro Late Models, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks and Pure Stocks. If you're in attendance tag us on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter. Don't forget to catch all our action from our vlogs on YouTube. This week we rode along with the #42 of Steve Murdoch.

Don't forget to stay tuned to Facebook, Instagram and Twitter to keep up to date on all things CVM related.


bottom of page